It seems WhatsApp‘s ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature — designed to allow you to wipe texts and files you sent accidentally. But might still leave traces of your messages. Because of a discrepancy within the method the function works on android handsets and iPhones.

Researcher Shitesh Sachan noticed that even after purging messages, media files sent to iPhone users in group chats (who have enabled the ‘Save to Camera Roll’ setting) will remain on the device.

To clarify, though deleted messages containing media files won’t be visible in WhatsApp. The files can still be obtainable to iPhone users with ‘Save to Camera Roll’ enabled.

By contrast, the feature works differently on WhatsApp for android. Once a user has used ‘Delete for everybody,’ media files saved to android recipient’s picture gallery additionally get wiped.

The distinction between the platforms might provides a false sense of privacy to android users unfamiliar with the method the feature works on iOS devices.

When the investigator contacted WhatsApp regarding the flaw, a corporation voice recommended the feature offers no guarantee that media files are going to be properly purged from devices’ storage.

“The practicality provided via ‘Delete for Everyone’ is meant to delete the message. And there’s no guarantee that the media (or message) are going to be permanently deleted —the implementation focuses round the message presence in WhatsApp,” a voice told the investigator, The Hacker News reports.

For the record, WhatsApp is not the only messenger that has suffered from this issue.

A investigator recently discovered telegram kept pictures from deleted files in recipients’ phone storage, however the corporate has since released an update that fixes the bug. From the looks of it, though, WhatsApp has no immediate plans to deal with the problem.

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here